Vision Coalition Treasurer Bob Pedersen, left, and coalition coordinator Raeann Jones, right, pose with Youth Star Award winner McKenzie Jones, Raeanne's daughter. In addition to receiving an award, McKenzie helped serve the awards banquet's delicious dinner Friday night. Village Life photo by Noel Stack

Feature Photos

EDH Community Vision Coalition celebrates exceptional young people

By From page A3 | December 19, 2012

Celebrating young people seemed more important than ever Friday night at the El Dorado Hills Community Vision Coalition’s annual Youth Star Awards.

In the wake of what happened across the country in Connecticut, a lengthy moment of silence opened the ceremony at Lakehills Covenant Church in El Dorado Hills. Vision Coalition Board President Roger Taylor noted that the children lost in the tragedy will never have the opportunities to give back and be recognized.

Despite the somber beginning, guests had much to celebrate as 38 young people were recognized for their tireless community service.

Former Youth Star winner, and the evening’s entertainment with his band Atlas & Arrows, Ryan Ladd told the crowd that the young people in the room do “amazing things” and the Youth Star Awards bring those effort to the forefront and inspire others to give back to their community.

The Community Vision Coalition’s goal is to give young people opportunities “so they stay safe, healthy and drug free and help others stay safe, healthy and drug free,” according to coalition Executive Director DJ Peterson. He encouraged everyone in the room to support the non-profit’s efforts by joining the coalition, volunteering and supporting its fundraisers. See the website,, for more information.

In addition to the Youth Star Award, each young person honored also received a joint certificate from the California State Senate and Assembly presented by Assemblywoman Beth Gaines, who said she saw a lot of future leaders in the room. Several winners also went home with raffle prizes.

Youth Star Award recipients

Julie Ahmed
Anthony Best
Nick Bennett
Bevyn Cassidy
Teja Chalamcherla
Emmy De La Cruz
Rebecca Dudley
Hope Fenske
Marissa Flickinger
Isabella Furtado
Jessica Furtado
Sophie Geyer
Tori Gronberg
Victoria Han
Susanne Hof
Kendall Hoy
McKenzie Jones
Eunice Kim
Haley Lehtola
Timothy Lo
Jolena Lumpkin
Saba Malik
Kelsey Nager
Katelynn Quinones
Emily Richan
Rebecca Rogness
Marco Sanchez
Logan Sanne
Kaythan Somavarapu
Danny Sovenski
Olivia Sullivan
Riley Taylor
Ryan Thoms
Victoria Vera
Max White

Tim Wilson

Nick Young

Gabriela Zeagler

Noel Stack


  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Follow Us On Facebook

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2017 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life, Winters Express, Georgetown Gazette, EDC Adventures, and other community-driven publications.