Featured Stories

Primary candidates finalized

By From page A1 | March 12, 2014

Friday was do-or-die time for those who had taken out papers but had not yet taken the final steps to run for office.

By 5 p.m. it was clear who was in and who was out in the final line up for the June primary.

Running for District 4 El Dorado County supervisor will be Scott McNeil, retired flight controller; Tim Palmer, high school teacher; Lori Parlin, community volunteer; Howard Penn, local business owner; Michael Pettibone, business owner/entrepreneur; Winston Pingrey, retired law enforcement; Michael Ranalli, businessman/grape grower; and Dave Souza, rancher.

Running for District 5 El Dorado County supervisor will be Kevin Brown, businessman/school boardmember; Kenny Curtzwiler, contractor; Gerri Grego, businesswoman; Sue Novasel, businesswoman/school boardmember; Teresa Piper, Pollock Pines/South Lake Tahoe resident; and Angela Swanson, city councilmember.

Incumbents facing an opponent include Auditor-Controller Joe Harn, CPA, who will run against Michael Owen, winemaker/businessman/CPA. District Attorney Vern Pierson will face Henry Judson, lawyer/small business owner. Recorder-Clerk Bill Schultz will face Chris Amaral, businessman/program manager. Treasurer-Tax Collector C.L. Raffety will face Ron Briggs, current District 4 El Dorado County supervisor/farmer.

Incumbents running unopposed include Sheriff-Coroner-Public Administrator John D’Agostini, Surveyor Rich Briner, Assessor Karl Weiland and Superintendent of Schools Jeremy Meyers.

Running for judge of the Superior Court, Office 1, are Vicki Ashworth, deputy district attorney; David Combellack, attorney/business owner; and Joe Weinberger, trial attorney.

Running for judge in Office 5 is Joseph Hoffman, business owner/attorney, who will run against Dylan Mary Sullivan, superior court commissioner.

Running unopposed as judges in Superior Court are incumbents Suzanne Kingsbury in Office 3, Steven Bailey in Office 4 and James Wagoner in Office 6.

Superior Court judges are elected to six-year terms. Everyone else serves for four years.

“Bo” Ambrozewicz is still in the race for California’s governor but Jason Mallory, who intended to mount a challenge to Tom McClintock as U.S. Representative in the Fourth District, dropped out of the race.

Contestants must win by 50 percent plus one of the vote in the primary to avoid a runoff in November.

Salaries for local officials are as follows: for Superior Court judge it is $181,292; for a county supervisor it is $76,877; for assessor it is $127,774; for auditor-controller it is $157,810; for district attorney it is $159,910; for recorder-clerk it is $115,773; for sheriff-coroner-public administrator it is $196,955; for superintendent of schools it is $177,690; for surveyor it is $122,450; and for treasurer-tax collector it is $135,470.

Dawn Hodson

Discussion | 1 comment

  • Leslie DavisMarch 11, 2014 - 3:47 pm

    We need Lori Parlin for District 4. We have lots of BOS' that represent developers and real estate offices.........Lori will represent the people for a change.



  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Follow Us On Facebook

  • Special Publications »

    Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service (updated 4/30/2015) and Privacy Policy (updated 4/7/2015).
    Copyright (c) 2017 McNaughton Newspapers, Inc., a family-owned local media company that proudly publishes the Daily Republic, Mountain Democrat, Davis Enterprise, Village Life, Winters Express, Georgetown Gazette, EDC Adventures, and other community-driven publications.